Skip to content

Answer me this:

March 12, 2011

Is it wrong that I am really enjoying the new Noah & The Whale album, Last Night on Earth? I like the single, the very punctuated L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N. It reminds me of (among other more poppy things) Casiotone For The Painfully Alone. It has flooded the airwaves over the last few weeks and I really like it, particularly the Smiths-esq weird guitar sound which pops up at the end of every verse. And now I’m listening to the whole album, and I like it too. But isn’t this the middle of the road indie rock that I am normally so bored by? Am I caught up with the nostalgic guitar soundings and cute lyrics, or is there something to this? Hmm. Here’s the single I was talking about. Have a listen, and let me know what you think.

Noah & The Whale – L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jouliejools permalink
    March 12, 2011 4:11 pm

    Don’t feel embarrassed or whatever, it’s not wrong at all, this single is very enjoyable to listen to and it does have a fair swinging beat, surprisingly. I didn’t have the chance to listen to the entire album yet, but I’ll do it. I was actually quite scared to be disappointed as I love the apparently boring ‘Peaceful, the world lays me down’, their first opus

  2. mDilsh permalink
    March 13, 2011 12:12 pm

    It took me a while to work out that I wasn’t listening to Lola by The Kinks.

  3. jouliejools permalink
    March 13, 2011 10:18 pm

    Oh my! How did I not realise it was so similar to that song?!

  4. Athénaïs permalink
    March 16, 2011 10:35 pm

    Hehe, I have this weird feeling too from time to time (funnily enough:when I listen to Laura Marling). But why do you ask yourself whether this is good or not? If it’s good enough to please your ear, that’s all that matters, isn’t it? I think this song is really joyful and summery and the lyrics are really well written and catchy (all good lyrics should be). It didn’t cross my mind that this band was poppy or commercial or whatever, I just thought it was good.

  5. Chris Bingo permalink
    March 17, 2011 12:27 am

    I think it’s more to do with the fact that everything they produced previous to this song and album was, if you’ll pardon the expression, a pile of filthy excrement. It is surprising to me for two reasons. One, that they ever managed to be allowed to produce another album and two, that they were actually capable of writing songs of reasonable quality on said album.

    It’s obviously easy at this stage to end up sounding like a massive music snob, but I felt that I could sleep-write better music, whilst battling an ear and throat infection and having lost the feeling in both my arms, allowing only for sporadic headbutts onto my guitar to produce backing notes.

    That said, I definitely prefer other songs on the album to this particular one though.

  6. j-diz permalink
    March 18, 2011 12:52 am

    is it just me or do they look like a bunch of c-bombs? just me? ok then…

    this song sure is catchy, and i kinda-sorta half-liked it the first time i heard it, but the more i hear it the more i realise its poo poo.

    incidentally, i listened to lola just now on youtube. i forgot what a tune it is! la-la-la-la-lola…

  7. May 25, 2011 10:19 am

    finally! u don’t know how many times i had that verse rolling around trying to figure out what I knew it from (i tried matching it up with ‘West End girls’, ‘Jack & Diane’ even ‘the Israelites’!)

    funnily enough, I thought another Kinks song got ripped off somewhat by this years Turkish Eurovision song contest entry.

  8. June 2, 2012 11:19 am

    Nice post . Cheers for, posting on this blog mate! I shall message you some time. I didnt know that!

Leave a Reply

