Skip to content

Incubus – Adolescents

April 5, 2011

Incubus are back after a 3 year hiatus with a new song titled ‘Adolescents’.

Incubus – Adolescents

Since 2008, the band have gone their separate ways: members have had babies, gone to universities, the label band released a greatest hits record, and lead singer Brandon Boyd has released a mediocre solo album.
In truth, I had already parted ways with Incubus. In my youth I had very much enjoyed S.C.I.E.N.C.E, Make Yourself and particularly Morning View, the latter still holding a place in my music-heart as my soundtrack to many an occasion, and surely has one of the best outro tracks ever.
But the follow up album, 2004’s A Crow Left of the Murder, didn’t quite hold my interest. Don’t get me wrong, it has some good tracks on it (like the aggressive ‘Megalomaniac‘, which is still a tune, I just checked), but it wasn’t the kind of thing I wanted to hear. So suffice to say, when their next album Light Grenades was released in 2006 I barely noticed, and when they went on hiatus I didn’t bat an eyelid.

But something about the new track has grasped my attention back. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but actually I quite like it. Perhaps it’s the characteristic supersweet drumbeat and cool mini-solo, or the classic Boyd vocals and neat guitar riff that just has that Incubus sound… or maybe it’s just curiosity. Whatever I think, the mild-mannered tension and pleasant melody of Adolescents is sure to catch the attention of the mainstream rockers, not to mention the die-hard Incubus fans, and with conformation that their new album, If Not Now, When? will drop on June 12th this song serves as a teaser of things to come. I wait with.. well, I’m not really waiting, but I’ll give it a listen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. willtm permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:46 pm

    since when did albums drop? i detest this zane-ism

  2. R.Biz permalink
    April 15, 2011 11:02 am

    Shut up Will! Is that the only contribution you can muster? Go and watch some 30 Rock.

Leave a Reply

