Skip to content

Interpol / Matthew Dear – Notes On A Gig

April 20, 2011

After my somewhat magnus opus of a review on Oceansize a few weeks ago its seems apt that this time I try and keep it short and sweet.

Therefore I present to you my notes on a gig:

1. I apparently no longer have patience for bands with no stage presence

2. I don’t like said bands that then try way to hard to impress on stage whilst all the while looking somewhat like a group of lepers being gently electrocuted in time with the beat

3. People that use their cameras and phones to record a gig instead of watching the fucking band piss me off (although in hindsight I admit it is useful for this review – see above)

4. People that TEXT other people during a gig to say how awesome said gig also fucking piss me off

5. Matthew Dear has all the stage charisma of a veruca, hiding behind his giant keyboard and occasionally jumping around with a shaker does not make for audience interaction. The whole band started clapping and no-one joined in. The song was good as well. Bad sign.

6. The square light rubbing around his face just emphasises this trying too hard. Oh and singing about monkeys A LOT is weird. Even for a weird band.

Interpol sounded magnificent. But I realise bands should interact more. Its been the way over the last 10 years or so that bands can only be cool if they say one or two word live. On the massive extreme you have complete twats like U2’s Bono and Coldplay’s Chris Martin that just love the sound of their own voices and wont shut the fuck up about the various charities they give such a small donation of their fortune to.

Intepol’s encore sucked however (see below note on slow songs).

Their slow songs drag and go nowhere (see encore sucked).

The lead singer looks nothing like his voice.

They sped up and slowed down during songs in the way that only local bands can understand.

They are quite samey, but their good songs are indeed great (see above)

They played the classics way too fast.

They looked fucking cool on stage effortlessly.

The drummer was keen as mustard.

They finished with saying that we were a credit to our country which cracked me up.

Lights was incredible and worth checking out even though i normally only listen because of the video.

In seriousness, the performance was good – a little like seeing a local band I really actually liked. The guitarist made mistakes, the band sped up and slowed down like metronomes were going out of fasion. And someone still managed to crowd surf. If such scales existed on this blog the gig gets a resounding 7/10.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. j-diz permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:00 pm

    Totally agree with point 1 – I’ve been banging on about it in most of my gig reviews. Too many bands out there who don’t know how to entertain a crowd.

    Never heard of Matthew Dear. After reading that, I don’t think I will again.

    Loving this style of gig review. Might have to try it myself.

  2. mDilsh permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:35 pm

    Points 1-4…you took the words right out of my mouth – I’m so glad I’m not the only person who thinks this! Point 2 particularly irritates me, especially as synth-based indie-pop has become more prolofic; I’m sorry, but it’s not possible to dance behind a keyboard without looking like a douchebag. What’s worse is that, it seems to me, a lot of musicians seem to be forcing themselves to like their own music these days.
    I’m a little saddened (but not at all surprised) that Matthew Dear wasn’t better live – I really like his album Black City.

Leave a Reply

